Same Same in Chiang Mai

Hi! How are you doing? My last weekend was really amazing. I went to north Thailand with my roommate and a Japanese friend. We visited Chiang Mai and Pai. Chiang Mai is said the second biggest city in Thailand, and very famous as a sky-lanterns (Kohm Loy) festival place. Pai is a small village in more north from Chiang Mai. It takes around 3 hours by car from Chiang Mai. And here is famous among backpackers especially from western countries. So we saw many western people in Pai.

In Chiang Mai, I found an interesting thing. For me, the atmosphere in Chiang Mai is similar to the one in Kyoto city. In the beginning, I will introduce a little bit about Kyoto city.

Kyoto, where is my hometown and my favorite city, is very famous. Because Kyoto is an ancient city. It used to be a capital city in very very long time ago. At that time, people built a lot of temples, and have kept those architectures until today. So in Kyoto, you can see the ancient Japanese styles. And many people visit Kyoto for sightseeing not only from inside of Japan, also from foreign countries.

 

Now, I will tell you what I felt in Chiang Mai city compared with Kyoto city.

 

So Many Temples

In Chiang Mai, there are main streets surrounded by one big square street. Many small temples are in the square street. And also in outside of the square, some temples were built.

Kyoto is also famous as “temples city” because so many old temples are there. And most of tourists come to Kyoto for visiting those temples including small ones.

One of the most famous temple in Chiang Mai, Wat Phra That, is located in a mountain called Doi Suthep. This temple’s main spot is this gold monument.


This was so beautiful. When we went there, the weather was perfect. So I think this photo is really beautiful.

Well, have you ever heard Kinkaku-ji temple? This temple is also in Kyoto, and one of the most famous temples. And the color is gold like Wat Phra That. So Wat Phra That reminded me of the famous gold temple in Kyoto.

 

Less High Buildings

In Chiang Mai, I felt the sky is very huge. That was because there are much less high buildings than in Bangkok.

And actually in Kyoto, there are less high buildings. But Kyoto city government create some rules about buildings. To keep the valuable beautiful views in Kyoto city with ancient buildings, they created some rules to limit the height of buildings.

I don’t know Chiang Mai city also has some rules like in Kyoto city, or not. But my feeling in this city is the same because of this views.


 

Ping River

In east side of Chiang Mai city, there is a big river. When we joined the sky lanterns festival, we saw those lanterns from a bridge on Ping River.


And in Kyoto, they also have a big river. It’s called Kamo-gawa River. It is located in east side of Kyoto city. So when I walked along Ping River in Chiang Mai city, I got the similar feeling to when I was by Kamo-gawa River in Kyoto city. It’s interesting, isn’t it?


 

Ancient city

Chiang Mai is an ancient city in Thailand. It used to be a capital of Thailand for about 280 years in 13rd century. 


As I mentioned, Kyoto is an ancient city. It is really interesting thing, right? I think that’s why I felt the same atmosphere in Chiang Mai as in Kyoto.

 

 

These things are what I found in Chiang Mai. Also one of the reasons why I like and miss this city now. If you like or be interested in Kyoto, you like Chiang Mai. You should write “Chiang Mai” on your traveling list. Then, if you find interesting things like this, please share with everyone! Including me 🙂 haha.

Thank you for reading my reports! I’m looking forward to reading yours! See ya.

Leave a comment