Traditional Thai Styles

Hey, guys. How are you doing? Did you have any fun things in the last weekend? I had no party in the last weekend, haha. But I joined the cultural trip planned by my faculty in the university. We went to Sampran Riverside and experienced some Thai cultures. First of all, I appreciate my faculty’s planning this awesome 1-day trip. Thank you.

 

Traditional Costume

What is your image of Thai traditional costume? Like this?

This, to wind a long cloth around the upper body, had been my image of Southeast Asian traditional style, and that was true. But, how about this?

When I asked a staff to try putting on traditional costume, she brought them to me! At first, I was surprised. It’s like a western style. And I felt ashamed to put them on. Lol But had fun :))

 

 

Similar cultures to Japanese ones

Bamboo Dance

 

If you are Japanese, I think you have seen or played it when you were in childhood. I didn’t know this is one of Thai cultures. They danced with stepping on two moving long bamboos to the rhythm. I tried with an American girl and an Indonesian girl. I thought the rhythm is Asian one, because it seemed to be hard for the American girl. That’s interesting.

 

Traditional toy – Fish

This fish is made of two pieces of leaves.



The guide introduced it and teach us how to make it as if it were Thai traditional culture. But actually, I’ve made it in elementary school and the teacher told us it is Japanese traditional toy. I have no idea where is the original place of this toy. I think this is an interesting discovery.

 

Rice Planting


They showed us how to plant rice. The way is the same as in Japan, but I thought one set of young rice plants is larger than in Japan. Nowadays in Japan, people use machines to plant rice instead of by hand like this traditional way. I should have asked how about in Thailand…

 

 

Thai style ceremonies

We watched a performance, and it showed us what ceremonies and festivals in Thailand are like. Traditional music with traditional instruments, traditional dance on traditional music with traditional dresses, traditional shows and traditional sports shows. Because of the performance, I can imagine Thai style ceremonies easily.

 


This is the traditional instrument. The sound is like xylophones. On music for the performance, this was the main instrument. I like that sound; not too strong, but also not too soft.

 


This is the bamboo dance I mentioned before. Can you see the dresses? Men wear very simple shirt and pants. But ladies wear colorful and glittering dresses. Red, yellow, purple, light blue… I wonder why only ladies’ clothes are so glittering. Because Thailand is Buddhist country, I thought ladies are despised and plainly dressed especially in long time ago when those traditional things were not just images but true. Anyway, they look so luxury.

 

 

 

On this 1-day trip, I saw a lot of Traditional Thai things. Maybe I can experience those things only in this kind of place. It was a good chance for me. Thank you for my faculty, again.

Leave a comment